News & Updates

Co-hosting "Asian Entrepreneurship Award (AEA)" in its 10th year Thirty startups from 13 booming Asian countries and regions to participate

Sep 08, 2021

Joined by technological startups involved in the fields of "Healthcare," "Work & Life style reform" and "Sustainability.”
Cambodian and Bangladeshi startups make their debut.

Following last year, the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) will participate in the innovation award the “Asian Entrepreneurship Award 2021," which will be held from October 27 to 28, as a co-host with the Asian Entrepreneurship Award Steering Committee (AEA2021). This year 30 startups to take part in AEA2021 have been decided (see the attached).

Since 2019, JETRO has nominated promising startups active in Asian countries and regions. This time, 10 companies nominated by JETRO will enter the competition as semi-finalists from the seven countries of Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand. This is the first time in the history of this award for startups to participate from either Bangladesh or Cambodia. Startups possessing technologies drawing attention from across the world, such as plant-based air purification technology and a natural drain cleaning system, will be joining. We will assist Asian startups and Japanese companies in working together to create new cases of open innovation.

The Asian Entrepreneurship Award is held in the form of a contest where startups possessing excellent technologies gather from a rapidly growing Asia and compete for business ideas capable of solving social issues. With the aim of "establishing an innovation eco-system in Asia," it has been held since 2012, and this year marks its milestone 10th year. In a new endeavor, mentoring sessions will be offered to the semi-finalists by mentors, primarily from domestic venture capital firms, for one and half a months before the event.


AEA2021 EntrantsPDFファイル(302KB)

Innovation Promotion Division
Innovation and Intellectual Property Department
Tel: +81-3-3582-5543, e-mail: (Persons responsible: Ms.Ohtani, Ms. Ueda and Mr. Yoshida)