1. Site Top
  2. News & Updates
  3. Live Event: ‘JAPAN Session’ to Highlight Emerging Visions and Solutions for Transforming Super-Aging Society into Super-Smart during CES

News & Updates

Live Event: ‘JAPAN Session’ to Highlight Emerging Visions and Solutions for Transforming Super-Aging Society into Super-Smart during CES

Jan 08, 2021

One of four panel sessions will also focus on innovative anti-Covid-19 measures.

TOKYO (Jan. 8, 2021) – On Jan. 13, from 6-8 p.m. (EST), the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) will present the “JAPAN Session: Transforming the Super Aging Society into a Super Smart Society,” a live streaming event intended for the CES 2021 audience. With one in four Japanese being 65 or older, Japan leads the world in the aging of its population and also in innovating solutions to a wide range of associated problems. The Japan Session aims to offer insights into the endeavor through a series of four 30-minute panel talks on such topics as “innovation trends,” “wearables” and “robotics.” A fourth sessions will focus on Japan’s latest anti-Covid-19 innovations.

The panel talks will feature some of the emerging thought leaders in the country’s innovation community. They are expected to share their breakthrough technologies, visions and strategies for creating a thriving “super-smart” world that is barrier-free for all.

JAPAN SESSION:
Transforming the Super-Aging Society into a Super-Smart Society

  1. Opening Remarks (5 min) – 6 p.m. EST | 3 p.m. PST
    Overview of JAPAN Session
  2. Welcome Speech (10 min) – 6:05 p.m. EST | 3:05 p.m. PST
    “Japan’s Innovation Policy for a Super-Smart Aging Society”
  3. Session 1 (20 min) – 6:15 p.m. EST | 3:15 p.m. PST
    “Emerging Visions and Potential Unicorns in Japan’s Tech Industry”
  4. Session 2 (20 min) – 6:35 p.m. EST | 3:35 p.m. PST
    “Wearables for a Super-Smart Aging Society: IoT for independence”
  5. Session 3 (20 min) – 7:05 p.m. EST | 4:05 p.m. PST
    “Robotics for a Super-Smart Aging Society: Life with bots that bring out the best of humanity”
  6. Session 4 (20 min) – 7:35 p.m. EST | 4:35 p.m. PST
    “Unlimited Water Supply, ‘Touchless-touch’ Panels, and Telexistence:
    How Japan is Arming Itself Against Covid-19”
  7. Closing Remarks (5 min) – 8:05 p.m. EST | 5:05 p.m. PST

Please see the AGENDA linked above for additional details,
including the names and background information of the speakers.

“Many technology startups in Japan are not only taking up the challenge of providing solutions to various challenges associated with the aging of the population, but also using this as a springboard to transform our society from super-aging to super-smart. We are very excited to present the Japan Session, where some of these innovators will their inspiring visions for the future,” said Mr. Ichiro Sone, Executive Vice President of JETRO.

About JETRO

The Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) is a Japanese government-related organization that assists innovative startups in expanding their businesses into the global market. The organization provides extensive support for business development, including consultation on go-to-market strategies, to help small businesses grow and to foster their relationships with their global counterparts. JETRO has organized the CES J-Startup Pavilion (Japan Pavilion) since 2019. Photos of past CES J-Startup exhibits:
Photos of past CES J-Startup exhibitsPDFファイル(850KB)

JETRO San Francisco Noriya Tarutani, Will Ferguson
E/mail: Noriya_Tarutani@jetro.go.jp, Will_Ferguson@jetro.go.jp